Australian Nepalese Journalist Association host first General Assembly in Adelaide, establish working committee

  • March 7, 2020

The Nepali community in Australia is one of the fastest growing migrant communities of Australia – and one of the most vibrant too. The community, spread across all states of the vast nation, are actively engaged in various social, cultural, and community activities. Several reputed media outlets operating out of Australia report the community’s activities to their readers. Media organisations such as MNTV, Nepali Times Australia, Global Nepali Patra, Nepal Tube act as a bridge between the Nepali Diaspora in Australia and Nepal. Each media organisation is represented by respected journalists, news reporters, and editors who have worked in various professional capacities in Nepal and Australia.

To unite the collective actions of the media organisations and the reporters, in 2019, Australian Nepalese Journalist Association (ANJA) was formed. Almost 35 journalists have taken up membership, and are in Adelaide for their first General Assembly. The General Assembly will establish new leadership, and set future course of direction for the organisation.

Friday, 6th March, 2020:

On Friday, the members paid a visit to the South Australian Parliament House. Honourable Ms Jing Lee, Member of the South Australian Legislative Council and Assistant Minister to the Premier welcomed the visitors, and gave them a tour of the Parliament House. During the tour, Ms. Lee shared a brief history of the Parliament House and other insights into the Australian political system.

Saturday, 7th March, 2020:

On Saturday, the members of ANJA convened for their first Annual General Meeting (AGM). The AGM saw the active participation of members. The AGM read an eight point declaration, and elected the following working committee:

President: Hemanta Kafle

Co-President: Rishi Acharya

Vice-President(s): Niru Tripathi and Sita Rasaili

General Secretary: Chirenjebi Devkota

Secretary: Saral Gurung

Treasurer: Krishna Tiwari

Members: Kamal Silwal, Chatra Shanker, Prakash Humagain, Khagendra Satyal, Milan Dahal and Sarita Dhakal.

Hon. Consul General of South Australia Dipak Dhamala hosted a dinner reception in honour of the attending journalists. The program was also attended by His Excellency Mahesh Raj Dahal, Nepal’s Ambassador to Australia. Ambassador Dahal, in an address wished the organisation the best, and reminisced his own days when he served as the president of Nepal Television (NTV).

Hon. Consul General of Victoria Chandra Yonzon, who was in Adelaide to attend the program congratulated the working committee and wished them the best in their endeavours. NRN President Keshav Kandel also applauded the efforts of the journalists towards communicating news and media reports of the Nepali community.

Hemanta Kafle, who has assumed position as the president, on behalf of the organisation thanked everyone for their support, and expressed his commitment to encourage the organisation to uphold the principles and values of journalism while delivering news to the Diaspora and beyond.