Mental Health Foundation Australia calls for nominees towards Australian Mental Health Award 2020

Mental Health Foundation Australia has launched the Australian Mental Health Awards for 2020 to recognise and honour outstanding individuals and organisations who have contributed to the Mental Health Sector. It has called for nominations of such individuals and organisations, if we know of.

Each year during the National Mental Health Month, Mental Health Foundation Australia recognises and celebrates the achievements and contributions of individuals, organisations and groups working tirelessly to stamp out stigma and raise awareness for Mental Health.

According to MHFA, the oldest Mental Health Association in Australia “these eminent people and groups set a benchmark and shed light on innovative and best practices of service delivery to improve and empower the wider Australian community. They inspire us through their achievements and challenge us to make our own contribution towards a better community with better mental health for all.”

If you know an individual or an organisation who has contributed towards the betterment of mental health in Australia, please nominate them.

Please follow the link below:


  1. Mental Health Advocate of the Year
  2. Mental Health Organisation of the Year
  3. Mental Health Youth of the Year
  4. Mental Health Volunteer of the Year
  5. Mental Health Senior of the Year.


In choosing the receipients for the awards, regard is given to the nominee’s achievements in the year as well as the contributions past and present made towards positive mental health within the Australian community.

The Selection Criteria are:

– A significant contribution towards a positive mental health sector.

– An inspirational role model for the sector to follow.

– Demonstrated excellence / innovation in service delivery.

Please click on the circles above to know more on the selection criteria for each award.


– Nominess must be Australian Citizens.

– Self Nominations will not be accepted.

– Nominees must be atleast 18 years or age or older for the Advocate of the year, between 16 years – 25 years to be eligible for the Youth of the Year award and 60 years and over for the Senior of the Year.

– Unsuccessful nominees maybe renominated in subsequent years.

– No weight is given to how many times, a person is nominated.

– Groups of people or a couple will not normally be eligible, though in exceptional cases the selection panel reserve the right to consider such nominations.


An individual only needs to be nominated once to be considered, but maybe nominated again in consecutive years.

Nominations are open from 18th May until 10th of July, 5:00 pm.