Nanda Gurung wins NRNA Australia Presidency

Melbourne, Nanda Gurung has been elected as the President of Non-Resident Nepali Organization (NRNA) Australia. Gurung was elected chairman for the next two years with 8583 votes in the election held on Saturday. His nearest rival Dr Gyanendra Regmi got 4879 votes.

Raju Babu Adhikari has been elected as the general secretary, Sandhya Shah as the secretary, Raj Kumar Nagarkoti as the joint treasurer, Manju Khadka as the women’s park coordinator and Babin Mishra as the youth coordinator of the working committee for 2021-23.Similarly, the election held on Saturday has also selected a representative for the central election of NRNA. The elected central representatives are Buddhi Dallakoti, Parashuram Adhikari, Prajwal Bhattarai, Surya Khanal, Pravesh Raj Ghimire, Rajesh Budhathoki and Prem Kandel.Similarly, all the office bearers including the chief coordinator have been elected in the state coordinating committees to maintain coordination between the state and the center. Ashok Basnet is the coordinator of the Australian Capital Territory, Dev Gurung in New South Wales, Bishnu Chapagain in the Northern Territory, Binod Bhakta Acharya in Queensland, Renuka Lama in Southern Australia, Rakesh Shakya in Tasmania, Ram Hari Khadka in Victoria and Deepak Basnet in Western Australia.Expressing gratitude to all the voters who voted for him after being elected as the chairperson, Gurung said that he would not back down from his commitment. The turnout in the NRNA election on Saturday was 92.92 percent.