New restrictions for regional Victoria and mandatory face coverings for all of Victoria

FILE PHOTO: Victoria Police officers meet outside a public housing tower, locked down in response to an outbreak of the coronavirus disease (COVID-19), in Melbourne, Australia, July 8, 2020. REUTERS/Sandra Sanders

(Information as extracted from the website of the Victorian Government)

The Victorian Government has announced a number of changes in regional Victoria.

From 11:59pm on Thursday 30 July, you will no longer be able to have visitors at home, or visit other people’s homes if you live in the following local government areas:

  • Greater Geelong
  • Surf Coast
  • Moorabool
  • Golden Plains
  • Colac Otway
  • Borough of Queenscliffe

You may still continue to visit your partner, and exemptions continue to apply for care and caregiving reasons.  If you live in one of these areas, these restrictions will travel with you.

Face coverings mandatory for all of Victoria

From 11:59pm on Sunday 2 August, face coverings will also be mandatory for all of Victoria.

The same lawful exemptions that currently apply in metropolitan Melbourne and Mitchell Shire, will apply across Victoria. These include if you have a medical condition or other condition that impairs your ability to wear a face covering, doing strenuous exercise or if you are unable to do your job while wearing a face covering.

Wearing a face covering protects you and your community by providing an additional physical barrier to coronavirus (COVID-19).

People who do not wear face coverings and do not have a lawful excuse can be fined $200.

As in metropolitan Melbourne and Mitchell Shire, masks will be made available to schools and vulnerable people living in regional Victoria.

Children who are under the age of 12 years old do not need to wear a face covering. Children who are two years or younger must not wear face coverings as they are a choking and suffocation risk.

Guidelines will be developed about how wearing a face covering applies in different settings in regional Victoria.

The new changes are in additon to the earlier imposed restrictions in metropolitan Melbourne and Mitchell Shire.

The Victorian Government has announced that metropolitan Melbourne and Mitchell Shire will return to Stage 3 Stay at Home restrictions from 11.59pm on Wednesday 8 July 2020. 

This decision was made in response to a significant increase in community transmission of coronavirus (COVID-19) in these areas.

This includes:

  1. Banyule 
  2. Hume  
  3. Moreland  
  4. Bayside  
  5. Kingston  
  6. Mornington Peninsula 
  7. Boroondara
  8. Knox 
  9. Nillumbik  
  10. Brimbank 
  11. Manningham  
  12. Port Phillip  
  13. Cardinia
  14. Maribyrnong  
  15. Stonnington  
  16. Casey
  17. Maroondah 
  18. Whitehorse  
  19. Darebin
  20. Melbourne  
  21. Whittlesea 
  22. Frankston 
  23. Melton  
  24. Wyndham  
  25. Glen Eira  
  26. Monash 
  27. Yarra  
  28. Greater Dandenong 
  29. Moonee Valley  
  30. Yarra Ranges 
  31. Hobsons Bay 
  32. Mitchell Shire