NSW Government reveals seven train stations for Metro West

  • October 21, 2019

A Google Maps screenshot of the confirmed stations.

NSW government has confirmed seven stops planned for Sydney’s new Metro West train from the CBD to the western suburbs. The underground train will include stops at Westmead, Parramatta, Sydney Olympic Park, North Strathfield, Burwood North, Five Dock and the Bays Precinct, and is expected to reduce travel times between Paramatta and the CBD by 20 minutes.  The State Government is also considering further stops at Rydalmere and Pyrmont.

While the government is yet to mention the price tag of the new line, initial work is expected to start next year with tunnel boring machines estimated to enter the ground in 2022 – the line is expected to be fully operational by 2030. The Transport Minister said the project would take pressure off the T1 Western Line which, along with the T9 Northern Line, was expected to reach capacity within the next decade. “The project would create around 10,000 direct and 70,000 indirect jobs”, he added.

According to an ABC report, the new stations will be at

  • Westmead: Eastern side of Hawkesbury Road, south of the existing Westmead Station
  • Parramatta: Between George, Macquarie, Church and Smith streets
  • Sydney Olympic Park: East of Olympic Boulevard
  • North Strathfield: Adjacent to existing North Strathfield Station
  • Burwood North: Corner of Burwood and Parramatta roads
  • Five Dock: Great North Road, between East Street and corner of Second Avenue
  • The Bays Precinct: Between Glebe Island and Bay Power Station