BBL 20-21: Nepal’s Sandeep Lamichhane signs on with Hobart Hurricanes

Image: Hobart Hurricane/Twitter@HurricanesBBL

Sandeep Lamichhane, prominent Nepalese leg-spinner, and an emerging international cricketing talent has signed on with Hobart Hurricanes for Big Bash League 20-21.

The young Nepalese cricketer who made his Big Bash League debut for the Melbourne Stars in 2018-19, played for a second time with the Melbourne Stars in 2019-20 – and has made quite a considerable impression with 26 wickets to his name in the 21 matches for BBl in the two editions he represented Melbourne Stars.

In the 2020-21 edition (BBL 10), he will be adorning ‘purple’ (Hobart Hurricanes).

“I am humbled and honoured to join the Hobart Hurricanes family for BBL|10. I have always got a lot of love and support in Australia, and the premium quality of competition in Big Bash is exciting. I can’t wait to play at the Blundstone Arena!”, Lamichhane was quoted telling Hobart Hurricanes.

Lamichhane has 26 wickets to his name in the BBL from 21 matches in the last two seasons. He has also played in the Indian Premier League and the Caribbean Premier League.

With the signing of Lamichhane, the Hurricanes line-up for BBL The full squad is as below:

Scott Boland, Tim David, Jake Doran, Nathan Ellis, James Faulkner, Peter Handscomb, Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, David Moody, Mitchell Owen, Tim Paine, Will Parker, D’Arcy Short, Matthew Wade, Nick Winter, Mac Wright

Overseas players: Dawid Malan, Sandeep Lamichhane, Keemo Paul

Overseas replacement players: Will Jacks, Colin Ingram