Western Australia to reopen border with Victoria and NSW on 8th December

Early morning light trails from cars as they commute into the Perth city centre for work. (Photo by Start Digital on Unsplash)

Perth, Australia:

Western Australia will reopen its border with Victoria and New South Wales on 8th December, 2020 – allowing families to reunite for Christmas and New Year holidays. Travellers travelling from these two states will not have to undergo a 14 day quarantine but will undergo a health screening and temperature check.

Meanwhile border restrictions for South Australia, which is still classified as medium risk, will continue at least until 11th December.

Western Australia has gone 233 consecutive days without community transmission, and the decision to lift border restrictions with NSW and VIC was arrived after both states made remarkable progress towards containing community spread. Victoria, once the country’s epicentre has recorded 31 consecutive days of zero new cases of Covid-19. NSW has also recorded 24 consecutive days of zero new locally transmitted cases.