Bhaban Bhatta elected NRNA president

  • October 18, 2017

2017-10-18, Sources

Oct 17, 2017-Bhawan Bhatta has been elected as President of Non-Resident Nepali Association (NRNA) with a landslide majority.

In the election held during the Eighth General Assembly of NRNA in Kathmandu, Bhatta secured 1197 votes against 584 polled by another contender Jamuna Ghale, Election Committee member Kul Prasad Panday said. Of the total 1854 voters, 1788 voters cast their ballots.

After winning the election, Bhatta, who owns hospitality business in Japan, said he would give continuity to the work initiated by the NRNA and its incomplete agendas.

“Victory and defeat is common in election. I will try to move ahead uniting all the NRNs,” Bhatta said after his victory. Bhatta also said NRNA will forward the agendas including building construction, smart NRNA academy, Laprak Model Settlement and joint investment.

Kumar Prasad Pant and Kul Acharya won the election for the two vice chairperson posts, informed Kul Prasad Pandey, member of the election committee. There were six candidates contesting for the position. Sapila Raj Bhandari won the woman vice chairperson post defeating Ranju Thapa. Dr Badri KC won the General Secretary post edging out two other candidates.

Dambar Bahadur Chhetri and Janaki Gurung won the secretary posts. Hikmat Bahadur Thapa was re-elected as Treasurer while Somnath Sapkota won the Joint Treasurer post.

The election committee informed Bhuma Devi Limbu won the Woman Coordinator post while Sudan Thapa claimed victory as Youth Coordinator.

The NRNA-ICC last held its election in 2015. The NRNs have been working in an organised way in Nepal and other countries since October 2003 following establishment of the NRNA. Since then, the NRNA has expanded its networks to 77 countries around the globe. Over 100,000 Nepalis, except those residing in South Asia, are associated with the NRNA. It is reported that five million Nepalis are living in 110 countries throughout the world.