15th Republic Day to be marked for three days

The government has decided to mark 15th Republic Day for three days from May 28 to 30.

A meeting of the Republic Day 2079 Main Ceremony Committee held at the Office of the Prime Minister and Council of Ministers on Thursday decided to celebrate the Republic Day with a three-day programme.

A meeting of the Main Organising Committee chaired by Home Minister Bal Krishna Khand in absence of Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba on Thursday decided to mark the Republic Day on May 28, 29 and 30 with various programmes.

The Committee has decided that all government offices at the federal, provincial and local levels will display national flags and banners in the evening of May 28 and request the general public to organise a Dipawali programme, according to a press statement issued by the Home Ministry.

Secretary at the Ministry of Home Affairs, Tek Narayan Pandey, after the meeting said that main function will be held at the Army Pavilion, Tudikhel in the presence of President Bidya Devi Bhandari on May 29.

On the same evening, the general public and government and public offices are scheduled to organise Dipawali at their homes, offices and public places.

Radio Nepal and Nepal Television are scheduled to broadcast Republic Day related songs on May 29 and 30 and the countrymen and government and public bodies are scheduled to light lamps at their homes, offices and public places in the evening.

Similarly, the Main Organising Committee has also decided to hoist the national flag and light lamps in Nepali embassies, missions and consulates abroad.

The Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation has decided to prepare electronic materials reflecting the unique natural and cultural features of Nepal and send them to Nepali embassies, missions and consulates abroad through the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

The national flag will be hoisted at government offices, bodies and in the capitals, districts and local levels of the provinces outside the Valley on the evening of May 28, 29 and 30.

Under the coordination of Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba, a Main Organising Committee has been formed comprising Ministers of different Ministries, Heads of Constitutional Bodies, Chief of the Army Staff, Special Category Gazetted Staff and Heads of Security Agencies.

Home Secretary Pandey is the member secretary of the committee.

A sub-committee on publicity, stage decoration and management, ground parade and exercise management has also been formed from the main function committee.

Source : TRN,