21-year-old candidate elected Chair

Twenty one-year-old Basistha Kumar Gupta has been elected Chairperson of Kalikamai Rural Municipality of Parsa district. He is the youngest candidate elected in the district.
Gupta from Janata Samajbadi Party won the election by a margin of 117 votes against his nearest contender Ajay Patel from Nepali Congress.
However, Nepali Congress candidate Rajmati Devi Baraini has been elected Vice Chairperson with the margin of 111 votes. Her nearest rival was Sahani Khatun from Janata Samajbadi Party.
The Janata Samajbadi Party leaders secured victory at three wards in the rural municipality while UML and NC won in one each.
Moreover, Lal Bahadur Shrestha from UML became Chairperson of Thori Rural Municipality and Gokuli Kumari Regmi from the same party became Vice Chairperson. Shrestha and Regmi defeated Maoist Centre’s candidates.
NC candidate Dinesh Kumari Chaudhari Tharu has been elected as Chairperson of Paterwasugauli Rural Municipality by collecting 5,144 votes. Same party leader Mamata Mahato became Vice Chairperson by receiving 4,444 votes.
CPN UML candidates Gokarna Pathak and Puja Chaudhary have been elected Chairperson and Vice Chairperson of Parsagadhi Municipality respectively. Both of the defeated were the NC candidates.
JSP candidate Mahan Chauhan and NC candidate Mandu Devi have been elected Chairperson and Vice Chairperson of Dhowani Rural Municipality respectively.
Likewise, NC candidates Anoj Chaudhari and Rekha Chaudhari have been elected Chairperson and Vice Chairperson of Jirabhawani Rural Municipality respectively.