84 parties register at EC for Nov. 20 poll

As many as 84 political parties have registered at the Election Commission for participating in the election slated for November 20.

The EC has called the parties for registering at the EC by today in order to be allowed to participate in the election of the members of the House of Representatives and the Provincial Assembly scheduled for November 20.

Surya Prasad Aryal, EC information officer, said that by the deadline of party registration for the poll, 84 political parties have been enrolled and that four parties have come up with the idea to participate in the poll in a single election symbol, which is as per the provision.

The ruling CPN (Maoist Center) and the Nepal Samajwadi Party led by Dr. Baburam Bhattarai have agreed to take part in the poll in the election symbol of the Maoist Center, the hammer and sickle inside the circle while Bam Dev Gautam, coordinator of the National Campaign for Unity of the Nepal Communist Party has agreed to take up the Maoist Center election symbol.

All the major parties such as the Nepali Congress, CPN (UML) already registered their parties for polls.

The final number of the political parties taking part in poll will be determined after screening the documents of the parties, according to the EC information officer.

Source : TRN,