Charging Stations To Be Set Up In 50 Locations In 7 Provinces

Contract agreements have been signed for supply, connection, testing, operation and maintenance of electric vehicle charging stations at 50 locations in all seven provinces.

Electric Vehicle Charging Infrastructure Development Project of Nepal Electricity Authority (NEA) and Wangwang Digital Energy Corporation Limited, selected from an international tender, signed a contract of Rs. 377.9 million (excluding tax) for the construction of the charging station on Tuesday.

The contract has been signed to complete the charging station, to be constructed with the assistance of the Asian Development Bank (ADB) within a year.

NEA spokesperson Madan Timilsina said that the contractor company would take care of the maintenance of the charging station for the next five years after they come into operation.

He informed that 142 KW capacity charger, 50 KVA transformer for power supply and online billing system would be connected in each charging station.

The charging station will have 60/60 KW DC and 22 KW AC chargers for fast charging. From this, three vehicles including big bus can be charged simultaneously, said Timilsina

Charging station software will be kept in the data centre of NEA to serve more than 300 chargers.

All 50 stations will be controlled from Kathmandu, the NEA said.

After charging the vehicle, the customer will be able to pay the bill through QR code and mobile app.

All charging stations will be located along the main highways, bus parks and major cities. There will be seven charging stations in the Kathmandu Valley alone.

There will be five charging stations in Damak, Bhadrapur, Kankai of Jhapa, Biratnagar of Morang and Itahari of Sunsari districts in Province-1.

There will be seven charging stations in Province-2–in Birgunj of Parsa, Simara of Bara, Chandranigahapur of Rautahat, Dhalkebar of Dhanusha and Janakpurdham, Bardibas of Mahottari and Rajbiraj of Saptari.

Similarly, charging station in Malekhu of Dhading, 2 stations along BP Highway in Sindhuli, 2 in Hetauda of Makwanpur, 2 in Bharatpur of Chitwan, 4 in Mugling / Kurintar and 1 in Banepa of Kavre will be constructed in Bagmati Province.

There will be six charging stations in Gandaki, including Nawalpur, Damauli in Tanahu, 1 in Syangja and three in Pokhara of Kaski.

There will be eight charging stations in Lumbini, including one in Nepalgunj of Banke, one each in Bhaluwang and Dang, one each in Butwal and Bhairahawa of Rupandehi and two in Bardaghat / Sunwal of Nawalparasi.

There will be one charging station in Surkhet in Karnali and three in Sudurpaschhim. Mahendranagar of Kanchanpur, Dhangadhi of Kailali, and Dadeldhura will have the charging stations in the Sudurpaschhim Province.