Chitwan Stun Reigning Champion Lalitpur, Enter Qualifiers

Chitwan Tigers stunned reigning champion Lalitpur Patriots by five wickets for the fourth consecutive win in the Everest Premier League on Sunday.

Electing to bat first, Lalitpur struggled to collect 108 runs losing nine wickets in the 20 overs. In reply, Chitwan achieved the victory by scoring 112 runs in 17.2 overs.

The win led Chitwan to the qualifiers as they garnered eight points to secure their position in the top two of the league standings.

The result also helped Pokhara Rhinos and Bhairahawa Gladiators secure their berths at the play-offs. Pokhara sits in second place with five points while Bhairahawa trails in the third position with four points. Holders Lalitpur occupies fourth place with three points.

Mohammad Shahzad hit two sixes and four boundaries to top score for Chitwan with 28-ball 35. Bhim Sharki chipped in 22-ball 27 whereas Dilip Nath remained not out with run-a-ball 16 and Rajesh Pulami (6) smashed one maximum for the winners.

Azmatullah Omarzai and Rijan Dhakal claimed two wickets each for the Lalitpur.

Earlier lethal bowling from Kamal Airee, Karim Janat and Sagar Dhakal wreaked havoc as the defending champions batting collapsed like a house of cards.

Jayakishan Kolsawala (33-ball 42) made a significant contribution whereas opener Sandun Weerakkody (9-ball 14) and Surya Tamang (18-ball 11) only managed to add a double-digit figure in the scoreboard.
Biratnagar Warriors opened their account by beating Kathmandu Kings XI by seven runs in the first match of the day.

After being invited to bat first, Biratnagar scored 104 runs losing five wickets in the allocated eight overs. The match between Biratnagar and Kathmandu was reduced to 8 overs due to a wet outfield.

The middle-order Anil Sah scored the highest 45 runs whereas opener Rayyan Pathan added 30 runs and Captain Karan K.C collected 15 runs for the Biratnagar.
Gulsan Jha, Ryan Burl and Sandeep Lamichhane grabbed one wicket apiece for Kathmandu.

In reply, Kathmandu was restricted to 97/3 in the eight overs match.

Opener Rahmanullah Gurbaz scored the highest 28 runs for Kathmandu. Subash Khakurel added 26 runs and Raju Rijal garnered unbeaten 24 runs were other contributors for the losing team.
Rayyan Pathan grabbed two wickets and Pratis GC took one wicket for Biratnagar in the match.

Chitwan will take on Bhairahawa Gladiators in the first match and Kathmandu Kings-XI will host Pokhara Rhinos in the second match on Monday.

Source : TRN,