Church Boys, Birgunj United, Samajik Yuwa Promoted To Second Division

Church Boys United, Birgunj United Club and Samajik Yuwa Club have been promoted to the B Division football league after finishing at top three spot of the Martyrs’ Memorial C Division League.

Church Boys have been crowned the champions ‘C’ Division league after finishing on the top. Birgunj United Club and Samajik Yuwa Club finished on second and third position respectively.

Church Boys defeated Jhapa Football Club 2-1 to finish at the top. Rejan Majhi scored for Church Boys in the 20th minute to give them the lead. Seven minutes later, Som Thapa doubled their lead.

Jhapa pulled one back in the added minutes of first half through Shyamu Muramu but were unable to add any further. Only a win in today’s match would have taken Jhapa into the ‘B’ Division.

Samajik Yuwa Club defeated Birgunj Youth Academy1-0 to finish in third position. A solitary goal from Prabin Kumar Khawas in the 16th minute steered Samajik, who needed just a point, to the victory

Birgunj United defeated Pinnacle Khalibari Youth Football Club 3-1 in the first match of the day. Substitute Sandip Chaudhary opened Birgunj United’s first in the 61st minute.

Bibek Chaudhary added a second in the 69th and after Iman lama made it 2-1 for Khalibari in the 83rd, Chatrudhan Chaudhary ensured the 3-1 victory in the 87th.

Champions Church Boys won Rs 1 million while runner-up Birgunj United took Rs 700,000. Third-placed Samajik Yuwa won Rs 400,000.

Birgunj’s Dil Mani Chaudhary won Best Goalkeeper award while Sanam Rai from Church Boys was Best Defender. Church Boys Saiman Limbu was Best Midfielder and Bibek Chaudhary of Birgunj United won Best Forward award.

Sandip Khadka of Samajik Yuwa was Best Coach. All the players and officials won Rs 25,000 for the individual award.

Jhapa won Rs 50,000 after winning the Fair Play Team award.