‘Democracy Fighter Honour’ to be presented to Shrestha and Chitrakar

The Democratic Thought Society has decided to present the ‘Democracy Fighter Honour’ to social activist duo, Maiyadevi Shrestha and Kamal Chitrakar. A nomination committee formed by the Society decided to honour Shrestha for the year 2077 BS and Chitrakar for the year 2078 BS.
Society Chairperson Dr Kedar Narsingh KC shared that Shrestha and Chitrakar are to be honoured in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the democratic movement and social sector.
The honour carries a purse of Rs 25,000 along with a letter of appreciation. The Society had instituted a revolving fund of Rs 1 million to regularly honour such personalities.
The honour would be conferred on them amidst a special programme in an opportune time later, Dr KC said, adding the function used to be hosted on the establishment day of the Society i.e. Jeth 3 (May 17). Global pandemic of coronavirus has affected the hosting of the event on the day, he added.
Earlier, Kull Bahadur Gurung, Indra Kanta Mishra, Chakra Prasad Bastola, Puruswottam Basnet and Nutan Thapaliya were felicitated with this honour.

Source : RSS,