ECN Pushes NA Election Process

The Election Commission, Nepal has made decisions regarding the registration of political parties, election emblem, fixing ranks and publication of voter lists for the purpose of the upcoming National Assembly in Bagmati Province scheduled for May 20.
Issuing a statement here on Thursday, the commission said it has decided to publish the list of five political parties — Nepal Workers’ and Peasants’ Party, CPN-UML, Nepali Congress, Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP) and CPN (Maoist Centre), which have registered their name for the election, in the Nepal Gazette and provide them election symbols.
The decision was taken in accordance with subsection (3) of section 48 of the Political Party Act, 2017, the statement added.
According to the decision, the CPN-UML will be given the sun and rank 1, Nepali Congress will be given the tree and rank 2, CPN (Maoist Centre) will be given the symbol of hammer and sickle inside a circle and rank 3, RPP will be given plough and rank 4 and Nepal Workers’ and Peasants’ Party will be given Madal (Nepali ethnic drum) and rank 5.
The commission has decided to approve the voters’ list which was prepared for the by-election of the National Assembly including the names of 110 members of the Provincial Assembly and a total of 348 voters including 238 rural municipality chairpersons and vice-chairpersons and municipal chiefs and deputy-chiefs.
The approved voters’ list would be published at the Office of the Election Officer, Hetauda at 11:00 am on May 4, the commission stated.
Similarly, from 11:00 am to 5:00 pm on the same day, a person whose name is missing in the published voters’ list should apply for including his/ her name, a person whose name is included in the voters’ list can apply to correct his/her name, surname, age, post, etc. and a complaint can be lodged against the voters mentioned in the voters’ list.
The voters’ list will be published in the commission’s website, the statement read.