Husband, wife contest poll from rival parties

Husband, wife and siblings are contesting the upcoming local elections in the same wards from different parties in Siddarthanagar Municipality Ward No. 6 of Rupandehi district. They have fielded their candidacies for the posts of ward chairperson and member.

Loktantrik Samajwadi Party (LOSAPA) has nominated Kripashankar Mallaha for the post of ward chairperson. Similarly, his wife Seema Mallaha has been nominated as a ward member by the Nepali Congress (NC). In the last local level election, Seema was elected as a ward member from the NC.

Similarly, Ranjan Kumar Chaudhary Kayastha of Nepal Janata Party has registered his candidature for the post of ward chairperson in the ward. Ranjan’s younger brother Mani Kumar Chaudhary Kayastha has filed his nomination for the post of ward member from the CPN (Maoist Centre).

As the election is approaching, the candidature of husband-wife, brothers and sisters in the same ward is being discussed everywhere. NC had won last local level election in the ward.

Birendranath Srivastava from NC, elected as ward chairperson in the last local level election, is re-contesting for the same post. His nearest rival Ram Dayal Gupta is also re-contesting for the post of ward chair. Gupta, a candidate from the CPN (Maoist Centre) got the second position in the last election. Now, Gupta is the chairman of UML Siddharth Nagar-6.

Swetha Kumari Harijan, 21, is competing as a Dalit woman member from the panel of Gupta, who has been nominated for the post of ward chairperson from the CPN (UML). After the UML nominated a 21-year-old girl as its ward member candidate, she has drawn wide media coverage.

Ramdayal Gupta from CPN-UML, Birendranath Srivastava from NC, Dilip Kumar Mallik from Rastriya Prajatantra Party, Ishtehak Ahmed Musalman from CPN (Maoist Centre), Siyaram Yadav from Janata Samajbadi Party, Kripashankar Mallaha from LOSAPA, Kabiram Bhattarai from Rastriya Janamorcha, Bikalchandra Jaiswal from Janamat Party, Ranjan Kumar Chaudhary Kayastha from Nepal Janata Party, Sunil Singh Chhetri from Rastriya Janamukti Party have fielded their nominations for the post of ward chairperson in Siddarthanagar-6 of Rupandehi.

Source : TRN,