RJPN and Samajwadi come together to form Janata Samajwadi Party

Janata Samajwadi Party today registered itself as a new party at the Election Commission (EC).

During late hours yesterday, Samajwadi Party Nepal and Rastriya Janata Party (RJP-N) announced a merger to form a new party.

The registration number of the new party at the election body is 1388.

Leaders of the two parties, Rajendra Mahato Dr Baburam Bhattarai, informed the EC that they have already sealed the unification deal to launch the new party.

Leader of the erstwhile RJP-N Rajendra Mahato said they are planning to complete complete the unification at the earliest. “We informed the EC about our decision to have the new political party,” he told reporters on the EC premises.

The unification document was signed by Mahantha Thakur, Rajendra Mahato, Mahendra Raya Yadav and Saratsingh Bhandari on behalf of the RJPN while Dr Baburam Bhattarai, Upendra Yadav, Ashok Rai and Rajendra Shrestha signed the document on behalf of Samajwadi Party.

As per the new deal, the new party will use the flag of Samajwadi Party and umbrella as its election symbol.

The new development came barely two days after President Bidya Devi Bhandari issued an ordinance to amend the provisions of Constitutional Council (Functions Duties and Powers) Act, and Political Party Act on the recommendation of the Council of Ministers.

On Tuesday evening, President Bhandari issued the ordinance related to amendment in the provisions of the Political Party Act. The new ordinance allows leaders of a political party to split the party if they have  40 per cent support either in the central committee or the parliamentary party.

The second ordinance makes it possible to convene a meeting of the Constitutional Council even without the participation of the main opposition party leader. The Constitutional Council, headed by the prime minister, makes constitutional appointments.