Meena And Prakash Crowned ‘Dohori Champions’

The pair of Meena Budhathoki and Prakash Parajuli has bagged the title of ‘First Dohori Champion’ in the nationwide televised Dohori song competition organized by the Nepal Television.
In the finals held at the bank of the Fewa lake in Pokhara on Saturday evening, the couple won the title including a prize money of Rs. 2 million and life insurance coverage worth Rs 10 million.

Similarly, Shobha Karki and Bal Chandra Baral were declared the second. They received Rs 1 million in cash and Rs 5 million worth of insurance coverage.

The pair of Rita Rawat and Sabin Acharya came third with a prize of Rs 300,000 while the pair of Meena Nepal and Rajendra Pathak bagged a consolation prize of Rs 200,000. Chief Minister of Gandaki Krishnachandra Nepali Pokhrel, General Manager of Nepal Television Phulman Bal and other guests distributed prizes to the winners.

The judges of the competition were senior folk singer Prajapati Parajuli, singer Sita Thapa, lyricist Ramesh BG, who is the president of the National Folk and Dohori Song Foundation, and singer and lyricist Chandra Sharma. The dohori champion program was aired every Saturday on Nepal Television.

Out of those selected from digital auditions across the country, the best 24 groups were selected through physical auditions of 35 groups. This was the first season of Dohori champion to start at the state-owned Nepal Television.

Source : RSS,