Members of High-Level Pay Commission get appointment

Coordinator and members of the High-Level Salary Commission formed to review the minimum salary, allowances and wages of the government employees and workers received their appointment letters on Tuesday.

Minister for Finance Janardan Sharma handed over the certificates to them at a programme held at the Finance Ministry.

The commission was formed under the chairmanship of former chief secretary Leela Mani Paudyal with former secretary Bimal Wagle and former executive director of Nepal Rastra Bank Shivnath Pandey as its members.

The Cabinet had formed the commission last week to implement the same provision.

Minister Sharma had announced in the budget of the current fiscal year 2022/23 that a high-level salary review commission would be formed to review the minimum salary and benefits of the civil servants. The Commission will make recommendations to the government.

The Commission will recommend to adjust the salary scale of the civil servants according to the order of merit determined by the Government of Nepal. Likewise, it will also recommend standards of wages, services and facilities for all workers in Nepal.

Collecting and analysing necessary information from the reports submitted by the commissions, committees and working groups regarding the review of salaries and allowances established in the past by the government of Nepal, studying the salary facilities of civil servants in the South Asian countries, and commending the appropriate salary after restudying and analysing the current state of economy are the primary areas for the commission to work.

Likewise, the commission has the mandate of recommending salary and benefits for employees, recommending adjustment of salaries of civil servants in accordance with the order of merit determined by the government, studying and analysing the risks, working hours, extra working hours, and incentive plans based on the workload of the executive, administration, judiciary and other agencies. It should make recommendations on the basis of these analysis.

The term of the commission is three months. However, if necessary, the Cabinet can extend its term. The office of the commission will be set up at the Ministry of Federal Affairs and General Administration.

Source : TRN,