NCP Meeting To Continue Today

File photo

The meeting of the Standing Committee of the ruling Nepal Communist party (NCP) was halted after convening briefly on Wednesday.

The party’s Standing Committee had met for the fifth time today at the Prime Minister’s official residence in Baluwatar.

The meeting was put off shortly after five SC members expressed their views on agendas tabled in the previous meeting.

Talking to media, party spokesperson Narayan Kaji Shrestha said the meeting was halted because the party leaders had to attend the House of Representatives meeting at 1:00 pm.

He said today’s meeting focused on two agendas, one about the party chair and Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli’s recent remarks accusing foreign elements conspiring with Nepal political forces to topple his government and about the application filed at the Election Commission to register a new party named Communist Party of Nepal-United Marxist Leninist (CPN-UML).

The agendas were tabled by party chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’ on Tuesday’s SC meeting, seeking clarification from the PM on both issues.

It is said that the application was filed at the EC under the chairmanship of Sandhya Tiwari of Jhapa, said Shrestha.
Yogesh Bhattarai, Leelamani Pokharel, Matrika Yadav, Nanda Kumar Prasai and Peshal Kumar Khatiwada shared their views on these agendas today, he said.
Prime Minister and party chairman KP Sharma Oli, another chairman Prachanda, top most leaders of the NCP and SC members were present in the meeting.

Who applied to EC for registration of party named CPN-UML?

CPN-UML is the name of the party led by PM Oli before it was merged with the then Maoist-Centre in May 2018 to form a single political entity named Nepal Communist Party (NCP).

Some leaders of the party have been accusing PM Oli’s faction of trying to revive the old party splitting the NCP.

As per the documents received by The Rising Nepal, 21 people have submitted an application at EC to register the party.

The document shows that the party was registered under the chairmanship of Sandhya Tiwari, Biratnagar, Morang, Bhagwati Khadka of Ramechhap as vice-chair, Manish Kumar Upadhyaya of Janakpur as its general secretary.

Likewise, central committee members of the party are Asmita Sunar of Khotang, Dawa Lama of Sarlahi, Jaya Ram Raut of Rautahat, Khagendra Parasad Bhusal of Parbat, Radha Puri of Arghakhachi, Hira Bahadur Bohora of Dopla and Tara Devi Shahi of Bajura.

Similarly, the party has 11 general members. None of the central committee and general members known faces of the national politics.