NC’s Ward Convention In 20 Districts On Sept 21

Nepali Congress Central Election Committee on Friday said that it would hold ward level general convention of all remaining 20 districts on September 21 under the party’s 14th general convention.
The Committee has already deputed election officers in additional seven districts, where the active membership row was recently resolved.

“The Election Committee will hold ward level general convention in other 13 districts, where the active membership row is yet to be resolved, on same date if the Active Membership Row Resolution Taskforce led by NC former general secretary Krishna Prasad Sitaula provides the final list of the active members by Sunday,” Tej Rawal, member of the Election Committee, told The Rising Nepal on Friday.

The NCCEC informed that it has nominated election officers for Kathmandu, Kavrepalanchowk, Sindhupalchowk, Bajura, Kapilvastu and Bardiya districts.
The committee has also prepared a list of other 13 district election officers to hold the ward level convention there.

Senior advocates Narahari Acharya, Kedar Karki, Rajendra Lamichhane, Chhabiraman Niraula, Santosh Bhandari, Lok Bahadur Shah and Ghanashyam Panta have been entrusted the responsibility to hold ward level elections in the seven districts, including Kathmandu.
However, the party has not yet settled the active membership row in remaining 13 districts till date. Rawal informed that the ward level convention concluded in 57 of the 77 districts.

The row over the concluded ward level election of Dadeldhura, the home district of Prime Minister and NC president Sher Bahadur Deuba, has deepened after the rival faction led by senior leader Ram Chandra Paudel asked the Election Committee to hold fresh convention there. However, party general secretary Dr. Shashanka Koirala, a powerful member of the rival faction, publicly told it was not possible to hold reelection in Dadeldhura.
The Election Committee has also informally concluded that it was impossible to hold ward level election again in Dadeldhura.

Source : TRN,