Nepali Army’s Rokaya Clinches Pokhara International Marathon Title

6«kmL ;lxt v]nf8L sf:sL,! kmfu’g . e”tk”j{ v]nf8L d~r g]kfnsf] cfof]hgfdf zlgaf/ kf]v/fdf ;DkGg !% cf}F ;+:s/0fsf] …;kmn kf]v/f cGt/f{li6«o Dof/fygÚsf] pkflw ljh]tf v]nf8L 6«kmL ;lxt . t:jL/ M s[i0f bjf8L,/f;;

Rajan Rokaya of the Nepali Army has clinched the title of the 15th edition of the Safal Pokhara International Marathon Championship. The marathon competition was organised in Pokhara today. It was organized by the Former sports Persons Forum.

Rokaya completed the 42 kilometres marathon in two hours 28 minutes and 56 seconds. He bagged cash prize of Rs 200 thousand along with the trophy and the title.

Similarly, the Nepali Army’s athletes became successful in winning the second and third places of the marathon. Army’s Gyan Prasad Bhattarai completed the marathon in second place clocking two hours 23 minutes and 48 seconds while Devi Raj Basnet took the third place completing the race in two hours 42 minutes and 33 seconds. Bhattarai bagged cash prize Rs 100 thousand and Basnet cash prize Rs 75 thousand.

Pradip Tamang of Panchthar who clocked two hours 54 minutes and eight seconds clinched the consolation prize of Rs 25 thousand and trophy.

Twenty-one kilometres half-marathon was also included for women athletes this time under the Pokhara Marathon. Rajpura Pachhain of Nepal Police clinched the title under the women category by completing the race in one hour 27 minutes and eight seconds. She won cash prize Rs 100 thousand and trophy.

Similarly, Ram Maya Budha of Jumla came out in the second place by completing the race in one hour 30 minutes and five seconds. She won cash award Rs 75 thousand. Brinda Shrestha of the Armed Police Force (APF) took the third place by clocking one hour 31 minutes and two seconds. She bagged cash award Rs 50 thousand.

Rekha Bista of Nepal Police finished the half-marathon in the third place. She completed the race in one hour 36 minutes and two seconds and won the consolation prize of Rs 15 thousand.

The marathon was flagged off from Pokhara Stadium. The route of the marathon was from the Stadium and back, passing through various places of the city.

Two hundred and nine athletes participated in the marathon while 29 women took part in the half-marathon.

Gandaki Province government Chief Minister Prithvi Subba Gurung, member-secretary of the National Sports Council (NSC) Ramesh Kumar Silwal, president of Nepal Olympic Committee (NOC), Jeevan Ram Shrestha, Forum president Tej Bahadur Gurung among other officials presented the prizes and trophy.

Japanese athletes had clinched the title in the last edition of the Safal Pokhara International Marathon Championship.
This time there was no participation of foreign athletes in the race due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Source : RSS, Photo : RSS,