President Announces Medals, Decorations

On the occasion of seventh Constitution Day, President Bidya Devi Bhandari has announced the names of 903 personalities receiving different decorations, medals and orders.
The nominations were recommended from the Cabinet on September 14 and the President Office made pubic the list of recipients on Sunday through a statement.

According to the statement issued by the Office of the President, 755 individuals were presented 11 different Decorations, 111 have been selected for eight different Orders and 37 for six different Medals.
The highest civilian award ‘Nepal Ratna’ was awarded to late Krishna Prasad Bhattarai (1924-2011) posthumously. Bhattarai became Prime Minister twice during 1990-1991 and after 1999 general elections.

Likewise, two individuals – late Subarna Shumsher Rana (1910-1977) and former Prime Minister Jhala Nath Khanal – will receive Rastra Gaurab Decoration. Rana was the co-founder of the Nepali Congress.
Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Cholendra Shumsher JB Rana, Swar Samrat late Narayan Gopal Guruwacharya and three others have been recommended for Mahaujjwal Rastra Deep Decoration.
Similarly, politicians including Pradeep Nepal, late Posta Bahadur Bogati and three others are included in the list for Suprasiddha Prabal Jana Sewa Shree Decoration.

Bishowambhar Prasad Shrestha, justice of the Supreme Court, has been recommended for Ujjwal Kirtimaya Rastra Deep Decoration.
As per the list, 24 individuals will be conferred on the Prasiddha Prabal Jan Sewa Shree Decoration, 39 Sukirtimaya Rastra Deep Decoration, 161 Suprabal Jana Sewa Shree Decoration, 8 Kirtimaya Rastra Deep Decoration, 319 Prabal Jana Sewa Shree Decoration and 190 Jana Sewa Shree Decoration.

Similarly, four individuals have been listed for Rastra Yashobardhak Order, two for Nepal Sewa Prabin Order, 21 for Samaj Sewa Ratna Order, 34 for Nepal Pratap Subhushan Order, 7 for Ati Paurakh Bhaskar Order, 24 for Nepal Pratap Abhushan Order, 3 for Maha Paurakh Bhaskar Order and 16 for Nepal Pratap Bhushan Order.
Among 37 recommended for different Medals, three will be conferred with Rastra Sewa Medal, 10 with Sukirti Medal, 7 with Sagarmatha Medal, 7 with Birata Medal, one with Bikash Ratna Medal and 9 with Prakritik Prakop Piditoddhar Medal.

Source : TRN,