Youths Shine In NC Convention

Youths are winning elections in the ward-level convention of the ruling Nepali Congress across the country. The latest results under its 14th general convention have indicated that a significant number of youths will emerge victorious.
Until the end of the second day of the elections for the 14th convention on Saturday, our correspondents reported that ward level leaderships are being declared.
Our Dailekh correspondent reported that 19-year-old Swastika Kumari Mahat has been elected as ward chair in Dullu Municipality-3 of Dailekh district.

Similarly, our Achham correspondent reported that 22-year-old Janaki Rawal (Bhandari) has been elected as ward president of Mangalsen Municipality-11. After two other competitors walked out of the competition, she was unanimously elevated to the post of president. Under her leadership, a 29- member ward committee has been formed.
Likewise, 25-year-old Hemraj Khadka has been elected as ward president of Saphebagar Municipality-10.

NC Achham spokesperson Bed Prakash Timilsena informed that 91 ward committee elections were held in 10 local levels of the district and that other ward elections were being held on the basis of consensus.
Our Syangja correspondent reported that all ward-level general conventions concluded in the district.
Of 97 wards, 11 ward committees and constituency representatives were elected through the election and other ward committees and constituency representatives were elected unanimously, informed the party district acting chair Buddhi Bahadur Rana Kumar.

Likewise, six constituency representatives have been unanimously elected from the same family from Putalibajar Municipality-2.
Khyam Narayan Parajuli, Sugam Parajuli, Kamal Parajuli, Yubaraj Parajuli, Krishna Parajuli and Rama Parajuli were elected from the same family. Our East Nawalparasi correspondent said NC ward-level general convention is scheduled for Monday.

NC district election officer Govinda Sigdel informed that the general convention had not been possible on the stipulated date – Friday – due to heavy rain, so it would be held on Monday simultaneously in all 92 wards. 

Source : TRN,