UK among other EU nations close borders for 30 days; death toll from COVID-19 exceeds 2500 in Italy

  • March 18, 2020

European Union (EU) affiliated countries have decided to close the border for 30 days. The decision is made while coronavirus cases are rapidly increasing in EU countries.

The decision to close the border is expected to be adopted by 26 EU-affiliated countries, including Iceland, Belgium, UK, Norway and Switzerland.

The ban will affect travel of non-EU citizens. However, European media says the restrictions will not apply to long-term residents, EU family members, diplomats, health workers and people transporting goods.

The pandemic coronavirus that started from Hubei province in China has been rapidly increasing in European countries after China. The pandemic is taking place in Italy, Spain and France in the European region.

The death toll from the coronavirus infection in Italy has exceeded 2,500 with the highest death rate from coronavirus in the world after China.

In the last 24 hours in Italy, an additional of 346 people died from coronavirus infection.

According to Worldometers, there is a total of 31,506 confirmed coronavirus cases in Italy among whom 2,503 have died and 2,941 have returned home after recovery.

Meanwhile, in another European country, Spain, 191 people have died from coronavirus infection. The death toll from coronavirus in Spain has reached 533.

In addition, 175 deaths have been reported in France and 26 in Germany.